BUG: Free form CAN variable packing

mbowdich
Posts: 209
Joined: Tue Oct 05, 2010 10:54 am

BUG: Free form CAN variable packing

Post by mbowdich » Thu Mar 10, 2011 9:49 am

When creating a new free form CAN message, the default data length is 4 bytes. If this is changed to 8 bytes, for example, the end bit for the default variable in the packing section that is automatically opened remains at 31. This cannot be changed to a higher value. To access bits 32 and up, the default variable in the window must be deleted, and a new one opened.
dwills
Enovation Controls Development
Enovation Controls Development
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Jul 30, 2010 8:27 am

Re: BUG: Free form CAN variable packing

Post by dwills » Fri Mar 11, 2011 8:35 am

This does seem to be a bug in the configuration tool.

However, as a side note, the database uses double values to store the data in the database. This presents an issue if you are trying to map one variable to a value greater than 4 bytes. If a value greater than 4 bytes needs to be mapped to a variable it should be split into two variables. A script is helpful for stuffing the values.
mbowdich
Posts: 209
Joined: Tue Oct 05, 2010 10:54 am

Re: BUG: Free form CAN variable packing

Post by mbowdich » Mon Mar 14, 2011 9:33 am

The other thing that cannot be done is to span partial bytes. For example if I want to use 10 bits, or I want to use bits 6 through 9. It allows partial single bytes or whole multiple bytes only.

This is also not possible in the J1939 section, although it is allowed under the J1939 protocol (J1939-71 sect 5.4.1 uses 10 bits in their example of bit length).