Changing text widget's text with a received J1939 Messages?

Discuss issues and ideas you have to configuring displays with PowerVision
muhit
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Nov 22, 2013 7:09 am

Changing text widget's text with a received J1939 Messages?

Post by muhit » Thu Apr 17, 2014 8:28 am

Hi,
How could we change a text on a text widget with a received J1939 message's status field which is defined in the database?

Example: For Torque/Speed Control 1 message's Override Control Mode field;
if received message's first byte's first two bits (Override Control Mode) value is "0", text widget's text needed to be "Override disabled";
if received message's first byte's first two bits (Override Control Mode) value is "1", text widget's text needed to be "Speed control"; ...

I gave the example for preventing a possible misunderstanding, general explanation about the situation could work also. Thanks for your help.

Muhit
stalley
Enovation Controls Development
Enovation Controls Development
Posts: 618
Joined: Tue Mar 18, 2014 12:57 pm

Re: Changing text widget's text with a received J1939 Messag

Post by stalley » Thu Apr 17, 2014 4:58 pm

Hi Muhit,

There are several ways to do what you want, an easy way is to use a Smart Text Widget.

When you EditSmartLabels... the Selector Variable will be the J1939 variable.
You will add Selector Value: 0 with the DisplayValue set to what you want.
Same for a Selector Value 1
Sara Talley
Software Engineer
Enovation Controls
muhit
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Nov 22, 2013 7:09 am

Re: Changing text widget's text with a received J1939 Messag

Post by muhit » Fri Apr 18, 2014 12:00 am

Hi again,

I forgot to mention that I'm using PowerVision Configuration Studio 2.3 for PV750. I didn't find a Smart Text Widget component. Could you be more specific?

Thanks for your help and time.

Muhit.
stalley
Enovation Controls Development
Enovation Controls Development
Posts: 618
Joined: Tue Mar 18, 2014 12:57 pm

Re: Changing text widget's text with a received J1939 Messag

Post by stalley » Fri Apr 18, 2014 9:48 am

That's ok. You just have to go through a few more steps to achieve the same thing.

You will want to use Multilanguage Text Widgets, one for each of the different text you want to display.

On each of the new text widgets, go to the properties on the right side, set the Visible Condition/Condition Enabled to True.
This exposes the rest of the properties you need to set.
Condition Variable is the J1939 parameter
Minimum and Maximum Values will need to match up to the Data/text that you need
Include Max Value should be true, in this case

For some examples, you can use the configurations found when you select to open a configuration in PowerVision configuration studio. There should be a list of configurations on the top left, they have lots of examples of how different widgets are used, programming, setting up the input and J1939 ports. You can open, copy and these for your use.
Sara Talley
Software Engineer
Enovation Controls
muhit
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Nov 22, 2013 7:09 am

Re: Changing text widget's text with a received J1939 Messag

Post by muhit » Sat Apr 26, 2014 7:46 am

Thank you, it really helped.